Our Curriculum

The National Primary School Curriculum can be found here.

Information about our Curriculum is also available below.

Physical Education

A diverse and engaging curriculum, which offers a vast array of different activities with the intention of encouraging a lifelong interest in sport and physical activity. A curriculum which also focuses on improving students’ physical, psychological and social well-being. A curriculum that has been designed to support students’ transition into secondary school PE by ensuring students are introduced to and develop the skills and techniques in activities delivered at Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Our Early Years Foundation Stage consists of seven areas of learning. Three of these areas are the prime areas of learning and they are:

– Communication and language

– Physical Development

– Personal, Social and Emotional Development

And four specific areas of learning:

– Literacy

– Mathematics

– Understanding the World

– Expressive Arts and Design

Our teachers provide an exciting environment where children can engage in both child-initiated activities and teacher-led activities in order to develop their learning in these seven areas. 

Fore more information on the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, please click on the link below:


Reading Books

We use the book banding scheme to ensure that reading books match the age and ability of the children

In Foundation Stage children will begin reading Lilac books. As they progress with the phonics scheme, they will move on to books that match the sounds they have been learning. 

The books are from Oxford Reading Tree and Big Cat as well as some Sunshine Readers and Read Write Inc books where appropriate to give the children a breadth of reading experience.

During the Foundation Stage most children will progress to reading yellow books.

Our Curriculum Offer KS2